A year in Dnepropetrovsk

An American volunteer in Ukraine

International Worker’s Day, or May Day

May 1. It’s pretty much what it sounds like. It’s the celebration of the worker. Only you can imagine that in the Former Soviet Union it’s even more of a big deal. I was on my way to the synagogue to catch the mashrutka (bus… sort of. Like a van) to the Shabbaton, and I caught the end of the parade along Karl Marx Prospect to Lenin Square, where a big rally was being held with flags and balloons and speeches. You can see for yourself:

1 Comment»

  Mike wrote @

Hello. I’ve accidentally stumpled upon your blog and it just so happens that I live Dnepropetrovsk. I had a lot of questions, but I’ll stop with saying “Hi” and thank you.


Leave a Reply

